What Are You Telling Yourself?

inspirationalpic2What we tell ourselves about the events and circumstances occurring in our life make all the difference as to how we experience them.  Life has its busy days.  Life has its hurtful moments. Life has its changes which include endings and new beginnings.  Not all of these occurrences of life are necessarily pleasant or easy. 

We have all seen two people in very similar situations who react and experience the same situation very differently.  There are those who experience a set back or obstacle and come out of it motivated to do better next time or to rise above it.  There is another who experiences the same setback and takes a downward spiral into depression or self-loathing.  The difference between the two is what each individual tells themselves about the situation.  What we tell ourselves reflects what we think about the situation and what we think is further fortified and supported by what we tell .  It’s a cycle.  We think something so we talk about it as we think it. Then, the more we talk of it, the more steadfastly we think of it in that way.

There is not a one of us who at our core does not wish to be content and at peace no matter what we are going through.  Whether we have a tendency to be drama queen, are one who minimizes or fall somewhere in between those two, we are always looking – in all we say and do – to be at peace.  Sometimes its just that we have this idea (at least subconsciously) that retelling our pitiful story or maximizing the worst potential outcomes will somehow legitimize our angst.  We have this misguided idea that once legitimized we will find more peace. 

In my first blog on this site, I wrote of the Truth that Spirit/God is everywhere present – all of the time.  I spoke of the Truth that this presence is always working on our behalf and bringing us all we need.  If I believe this, then no matter what is going on around me or inside of me, I can still be peaceful.  However…………… I do not always choose to remember it.  In the middle of a long list of things that needs to get done, I often experience a rise of anxiety.  Why? I am telling myself that there is not enough time or energy. When I’m misunderstood, my insecurities can appear.  Why?  I am telling myself that I am not good enough.  When I don’t get what I think I want, I can feel discouraged.  Why? I’m telling myself that nothing works out for me. 

However, if I picture Spirit/God talking to me in these scenarios and hear what It would be telling me, I can choose another inner dialogue.  Then the voice I hear tells me, “There is more than enough time for everything.  Worry not.  I am helping you.”   Or It says,  “I created you perfectly whole.  Nothing can ever change that fact.”  Or It tells me, “Trust Me.  No matter what you are seeing, every thing is working out for your Highest Good.”  This change of dialogue completely changes my experience of the circumstance.  It does not necessarily change the circumstance.  Leading a spirit-led life of inner peace is not about control over outer events. It is about control over my own peace regardless of outer events.

Listen closely to what you say about things in your Life and what stories you are telling yourself and others.  You are either scaring yourself or soothing yourself.  You can not be doing both at the same time.  The key to inner peace is remembering the Truth.  There is no time or place where Spirit/God is not present and active.  And there is nothing more powerful than Spirit/God. Therefore, whatever the circumstance, remembering this brings peace.  It takes awareness to catch ourselves in our lifelong habit of scaring ourselves.  It takes determination to practice changing what we say.  This does not mean we cover our discontent or pain with some bright cheerful colored paint and pretend it doesn’t exist.  It is very important to recognize and acknowledge our painful feelings.  We have to bring them into the light of our consciousness in order to address them.  What it does mean is that when we recognize them, we tend to them by not increasing their power over us.  We ask for help to let them go.  We say words that affirm that we can handle it, that it is temporary and we believe in something more powerful  working it all out on our behalf.

The Prayer:  Dear Spirit/God,  I am feeling troubled right now.  I do not deny this, but I do bring it to you.  I know You created me with all the wisdom and strength to rise above this and You are at work on it right now.  My desire is inner peace and so I accept Your help with this issue.  Since Your desire is also for my inner peace, I know all is well no matter the appearance.  Thank you very much!  Amen.” 

Now all you have to tell yourself is that it is all handled and working out perfectly…….. because that would be the Truth!

About Kathryn Bourquin

Life Coach specializing Meditation Practices and living from a place of Inner Peace. Speaker, Teacher and Writer. Specialties: Healing, Success, Breaking Old Habits, Realizing the Power You Possess, Letting Go of Long-held emotional pain. For an individual appointment in person or via phone or Skype: Go to kathrynbourquin@yahoo.com
This entry was posted in Inner Peace and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to What Are You Telling Yourself?

  1. Tina Corpis says:

    Kathy, you are so amazing, I am so so happy to see you doing what truly makes you, YOU!
    I personnally really needed this. Yes I sometimes do, as you know. I see this is everything we would talk about. I sure hope you are taking your own advise. I will do this myself. Thank you for your words, they really hit the soul. Love, Tina

Leave a Reply

